Epic 10 minute mix premiered this morning
Andrew Trendell

09:38 10th October 2013

James Murphy's remix of 'Love Is Lost' by David Bowie has been revealed online, in its full 10-minute glory.

The former LCD Soundsytem man created the 'Love Is Lost (Hello Steve Reich Mix By James Murphy For The DFA) for the upcoming expanded re-release of The Next Day - due out next month.

Murphy's remix aired this morning on BBC 6Music, and will also be available to stream from Bowie's official website on midnight. The mix clocks in at 10 minutes and 25 seconds and can only be described as 'epic'. The LCD man adds his trademark sense of space and danceability and even incorporates the keyboard line from the Bowie classic 'Ashes To Ashes'. 

Listen to the full remix below

Bowie's critically-acclaimed and Mercury-nominated comeback LP will be released across three discs on 4 November. The new edition will contain the original 14-track CD, a 10-track CD of bonus tracks and a DVD of the four promotional films made for the album: 'Where Are We Now?', 'The Stars (Are Out Tonight)', 'The Next Day' and 'Valentine’s Day'.

The 10-track bonus CD includes four previously unreleased tracks, two new mixes and 'God Bless The Girl' - which has only been released on the Japanese issue of The Next Day.

The full tracklisting for the bonus material onThe Next Day Extra is:
01 Atomica
02 Love Is Lost (Hello Steve Reich Mix by James Murphy for The DFA)
03 Plan
04 The Informer
05 Like A Rocket Man
06 Born In A UFO
07 I’d Rather Be High (Venetian Mix)
08 I’ll Take You There
09 God Bless The Girl
10 So She

The Next Day Extra will be released as a Jonanthan Barnbrook-designed package with a lyric booklet and a book of stills from the promo films.

Meanwhile, David Bowie is among the favourites to win this year's Mercury Music Prize, alongside the likes of Foals and Disclosure. 

 Below: David Bowie's The Next Day - What The Critics Had To Say

  • The Guardian - 4/5: "David Bowie's eagerly awaited new album is thought-provoking, strange and filled with great songs".

  • The Times - 4/5: "A great album, and a sense of mystery".

  • The Independent - 5/5: "The Starman pulls off the greatest comeback album in rock'n'roll history with The Next Day".

  • Clash - 8/10: "This is a contemplative, confident record which will only strengthen with further listening. Reflective, revitalising and luxuriously refined; it's bloody good Bowie after all."

  • London Evening Standard - 4/5: "Bowie reborn is dark, daring and dazzling, confidently inviting comparison with his finest work".

  • Rolling Stone - 4/5: "A triumphant album. The Next Day is the comeback Bowie fans feared would never happen."

  • The Financial Times - 4/5: "After a 10-year silence Bowie is back with an album that's thick with visions of ageing, death and violence".

  • The Telegraph - 5/5: "Bowie's first album for a decade %u2013 is a bold, beautiful and baffling electric bolt through its own mythos".

  • Metro - 4/5: "Bowie has always been comfortable with his own ch-ch-ch-changes; now he's taking in a changing world, too. He's a pop icon with no intention of being a period piece."

  • NME - 8/10: "Rather than reinventing Bowie, it absorbs his past and moves it on, hungry for more".

Grab your copy of the Gigwise print magazine here.

Photo: Press