The Eagles of Death Metal singer also reveals the lead single ‘Family Affair’, originally by Mary J. Blige
Elli Chappelhow

16:57 18th April 2019

Eagles Of Death Metal’s Jesse ‘Boots Electric’ Hughes is paying homage to 13 of his favourite tracks with his latest release, a covers album entitled Eagles Of Death Metal Presents Boots Electric Performing The Best Songs We Never Wrote. 

Landing on June 7 via UMe, the album release coincides with a UK and European tour. The covers album sees Hughes both joined by guests on some tracks, and flying solo on others. The album features songs originally by AC/DC, Guns N’ Roses, Kiss, The Ramones.

Today, Hughes has revealed the lead single from the album, a rendition of Mary J. Blige’s classic track ‘Family Affair’. His take on the track is available for streaming and for immediate download with album preorder, which is available in digital, CD, 180-gram black vinyl LP, and limited edition 180-gram red & blue marble swirl vinyl LP formats. Listen to the track below:

Hughes has created electric renditions of 13 songs he loves, all mixed and engineered at Valentine Studios by Nic Jodoin (who also co-produced six of the album’s tracks with Hughes). The album artwork has been created by Hughes’ EODM co-founder, Joshua ‘Baby Duck’ Homme. 

Eagles Of Death Metal Presents Boots Electric Performing The Best Songs We Never Wrote tracklist:
1. God Of Thunder (original by KISS)
2. It’s So Easy (original by Guns N’ Roses)
3. High Voltage / It’s A Long Way To The Top (If You Wanna Rock ‘N’ Roll) (original by AC/DC)
4. So Alive (original by Love & Rockets)
5. Beat on the Brat (original by The Ramones)
6. Abracadabra (original by Steve Miller Band)
7. Careless Whisper (original by George Michael)
8. Family Affair (original by Mary J. Blige)
9. The Hunger (original by The Distillers)
10. Long Slow Goodbye (original by Queens of the Stone Age)
11. Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Is In) (original by Kenny Rogers & The First Edition)
12. Trouble (original by Cat Stevens)
13. Moonage Daydream (original by David Bowie)

You can catch the band live across June:

08 - Nuremberg, Rock im Park
09 - Nürburg, Rock am Ring
10 - Hamburg, Markthalle
12 - London, Electric Ballroom
13 - Glasgow, The Garage
14 - Donington Park, Download Festival
16 - Amsterdam, Melkweg Max
17 - Luxembourg, Den Atelier
18 - Berlin, Heimathafen Neukolln
19 - Copenhagen, Copenhell
21 - Dessel, Festivalpark Stenehei
22 - Clisson, Rue du Champ Louet

Grab your copy of the Gigwise print magazine here.

Photo: Press