The disco-rock fuse has been lit
Harrison Smith
10:09 22nd January 2021

More about:

After what felt like four very long years away, Brighton duo Royal Blood return with their danceable album yet. Kicking off 2021 tremendously, Royal Blood have announced Typhoons, their third record, whilst simultaneously dropping a sizzling new single of the same name. 

Arriving on 30 April, Typhoons looks to be a treasure trove of all the things that have rocketed Royal Blood to the top. "It’s a small reinvention. But when you hear it, it sounds so fresh.” recalls frontman Mike Kerr, We sort of stumbled on this sound, and it was immediately fun to play."

Hear 'Typhoons':

Aside from a few helpful hands, (Queens of the Stone Age frontman Josh Homme & Grammy Award winning Paul Epworth) Royal Blood boldly took on production duties themselves. This freedom to mix it up and a suitable dose of bouncy rhythmic groove allowed the band to tread new ground and reimagine their signature dirt-rock sound. 

Bursting with attitude and gnarly bass riffs, both singles released from the upcoming album ‘Trouble's Coming’ & ‘Typhoons’ truly establish the disco-rock tone for the album and lights the fuse to what is sure to be a tremendously exciting summer for Royal Blood. 

Typhoons Tracklist: 

1. Trouble’s Coming
2. Oblivion
3. Typhoons
4. Who Needs Friends
5. Million & One
6. Limbo
7. Either You Want It
8. Boilermaker
9. Mad Visions
10. Hold On
11. All We Have Is Now

Typhoons arrives 30 April via Warner Records.

Issue Four of the Gigwise Print magazine is on pre-order now! Order here.

More about:

Photo: Mads Perch