The third single from Preacher’s Daughter
Adam England
11:12 21st April 2022

More about:

Ethel Cain has dropped a new single: ‘American Teenager’ is the latest cut from her upcoming debut album Preacher’s Daughter, out very soon.

A nostalgic indie-folk anthem, it tackles the dangers of patriotism and takes a look at the so-called ‘American Dream’, something that Cain uses her prior life experiences of growing up in small rural town to draw upon.

Talking about the track, Ethel said: “Growing up I was surrounded by visions of NASCAR, rock’n’roll, and being the one who would change everything. They make you think it’s all achievable and that if nothing else, you should at least die trying. 

“What they don’t tell you is that you need your neighbor more than your country needs you. I wrote this song as an expression of my frustration with all the things the ‘American Teenager’ is supposed to be but never had any real chance of becoming.”

‘American Dream’ is the third single from Preacher’s Daughter, which is set for release on 12 May. It follows ‘Strangers’ and lead single ‘Gibson Girl’ in being shared before the album comes out. 

Cain has also shared details of a North American tour in July, taking her across the East Coast of Canada and her native United States, with her debut European tour set to be announced soon. 

Preacher’s Daughter tracklist:

  1. Family Tree (Intro)
  2. American Teenager
  3. A House in Nebraska
  4. Western Nights
  5. Family Tree
  6. Hard Times
  7. Thoroughfare
  8. Gibson Girl
  9. Ptolemaea
  10. August Underground
  11. Televangelism
  12. Sun Bleached Flies
  13. Strangers

Preacher’s Daughter arrives 12 May via Daughters of Cain

Grab your copy of the Gigwise print magazine here.

More about:

Photo: Ethel Cain