Blood on the dancefloor, extensions on the bar
Vicky Greer
13:03 28th January 2022

More about:

Bloc Party have released another track from Alpha Games, their next studio album which is set for release on 29 April on Infectious/BMG. The band will be touring the new album across the UK later this year.

‘The Girls Are Fighting’ is an infectious, glam-tinged offering that tells the story of that moment when a fight in the club brings the night to an abrupt end. It has that tongue-in-cheek, slightly dark vibe that made noughties indie so attractive with a guitar solo that shows Bloc Party at their finest. Singer and guitarist Kele Okereke says:

“There was no specific incident that inspired this song – it was more a composite of lots of things I've seen over the years when being in clubs and seeing violence erupt with feuding love rivals. I've always had a slight obsession with those sorts of moments; like a fuse being lit, when actions turn from words into violence. You can learn a lot about who people really are in those moments. I think 'The Girls Are Fighting' is kind of self-explanatory – someone's been selling dreams to someone they shouldn't have and it's caught up with them.  I just wanted to capture that moment of going from naught to ten in an evening, in a sweaty nightclub. I'm really pleased with the arrangement for this track because it has this 1970s glam rock feel meets Adam Ant feel. I love what Louise is doing on the tom toms.”

See Bloc Party on tour later this year:

May 2022

26 – Birmingham, O2 Academy 1

27 – Nottingham, Rock City

28 – London, Alexandra Palace

30 – Bristol, O2 Academy

31 – Manchester, O2 Victoria Warehouse

June 2022

02 - Newcastle, O2 City Hall

03 – Glasgow, The Barrowland Ballroom

04  - Leeds, O2 Academy


Alpha Games Tracklist:

  1. Day Drinker
  2. Traps
  3. You Should Know the Truth
  4. Callum Is a Snake
  5. Rough Justice
  6. The Girls Are Fighting
  7. Of Things Yet to Come
  8. Sex Magik
  9. By Any Means Necessary
  10. In Situ
  11. If We Get Caught
  12. The Peace Offering

Grab your copy of the Gigwise print magazine here.

More about:

Photo: Press