Hear 'Speeding 72'
Adam England
14:19 19th April 2022

More about:

Momma have announced their upcoming album Household Name, set to be released on 1 July via Lucky Number, and have shared new single 'Speeding 72' too. 

Household Name follows 2018’s Interloper and 2020’s Two of Me, and comes after tour dates with Wet Leg. Previous singles 'Medicine' and 'Rockstar' will also be appearing on the album, their first full-length release as a quartet.

The fuzzy indie of 'Speeding 72' references Pavement, one of the band’s primary influences, and other influences like Nirvana and Smashing Pumpkins can be heard, though Momma continue to put their own stamp on their work. 

Momma, which comprises high school friends and frontwomen Etta Friedman and Allegra Weingarten, as well as drummer Zach CapittiFenton and bassist and producer Aron Kobayashi Ritch, describe 'Speeding 72' as being “probably the most collaboratively written song on the new record,” as they aim for it to be “the sort of summertime anthem that you can turn on during a drive to impress your crush.” 

The New York band, who relocated from their hometown of Los Angeles since the release of their last album, are also set to join Snail Mail on her North American tour in August, and are playing a string of upcoming UK dates too, including a headline show at London’s Brixton Windmill and a set at Brighton’s The Great Escape festival.

Household Name Tracklist:

1. Rip Off
2. Speeding 72
3. Medicine
4. Rockstar
5. Motorbike
6. Tall Home
7. Lucky
8. Brave
9. Callin Me
10. Spider
11. No Stage
12. No Bite



6 - Leeds, Belgrave Music Hall (with Illuminati Hotties)
7 - Glasgow, King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut
10 - London, Brixton Windmill
13 - Brighton, The Great Escape
14 - Manchester, Yes

Household Name arrives 1 July via Lucky Number

Issue Four of the Gigwise Print magazine is on pre-order now! Order here.

More about:

Photo: Sophie Hur