Celebrating indépendant artists, labels + beyond
11:14 29th September 2022

The Association for Independent Music hosted their annual awards last night, honouring the best in the indie music business, from the artists to the labels to the music videos. In Camden’s Roundhouse, the suits and stars gathered for a fancy meal chased by some trophies and live sets from Pixey, Lethal Bizzle and The Libertines.

Stormzy was very deservingly given this years Diversity Champion award for his incredible charitable work, while Rina Sawayama gained the Innovator Award, sending along a video where she talked about her years of work to get to this point.

Lethal Bizzle gave shoutouts to his entire generation of peers when he picked up his Outstanding Contribution award, and The Libertines also gained a special recognition award.

See a full list of winners below:

Diversity Champion - Stormzy 

Innovator Award - Rina Sawayama

Outstanding Contribution to Music - Lethal Bizzle

Special Recognition - The Libertines

Best Independent Album 

Boj - 'Gbagada Express' (Moves Recordings)
Children Of Zeus - 'Balance' (First Word Records)
Cleo Sol  - 'Mother' (Forever Living Originals) WINNER
Dave - 'We're All Alone In This Together' (Neighbourhood Recordings)
Dave Okumu - 'Knopperz' (Transgressive Records)
Emma-Jean Thackray - 'Yellow' (Movementt)
Mustafa - 'When Smoke Rises' (Young)
Nilüfer Yanya - 'Painless' (ATO Records)
SAULT - 'NINE' (Forever Living Originals)
Walt Disco - 'Unlearning' (Lucky Number)

Best Independent Track 

Anz - 'You Could Be' (ft. George Riley)
Dave - 'Starlight'
FKA twigs - 'tears in the club' ft. the weeknd
Jeshi - 'Protein' feat. Obongjayar
Knucks, SL - 'Nice & Good'
Nova Twins - 'Antagonist' - WINNER
Overmono - 'So U Kno'
Wet Leg - 'Chaise Longue'
Wu-Lu - 'Broken Homes'
Yves Tumor - 'Jackie'

UK Independent Breakthrough

Children of Zeus
Nova Twins 
Wet Leg - WINNER

International Breakthrough

Amyl & the Sniffers
Blxst - WINNER
Mdou Moctar

Best Live Performer

Ben Böhmer 
Mitski - WINNER
Shao Dow 
The Hu 

Best [Difficult] Second Album

Black Country, New Road  - ‘Ants From Up There’
Jana Rush - ‘Painful Enlightenment’ 
Nilüfer Yanya - ‘Painless’ - WINNER
Ross From Friends - ‘Tread’ 
Tirzah - 'Colourgrade'

Best Independent EP/Mixtape

Joy Orbison - 'still slipping vol.1'
Surya Sen - 'At What Cost?' 
TAAHLIAH - 'Angelica' - WINNER
Wesley Joseph - 'ULTRAMARINE' 

Best Independent Remix

ATO / FLOHIO remix of ATO - 'no caroline'
Mura Masa remix of Erika de Casier - 'Polite'
Champion remix of Ibeyi - 'Lavender & Red Roses ft. Jorja Smith' - WINNER
Thom Yorke ‘Man on Fire’ remix of MF DOOM - 'Gazzillion Ear'
Kaydy Cain remix of Shygirl - 'BDE' 

One To Watch

Barry Can't Swim
Léa Sen
Nia Archives  WINNER

Best Independent Video 

Arlo Parks - 'Softly'
Ibeyi - 'Made of Gold ft. Pa Salieu'
Jeshi - '3210' - WINNER 
Wesley Joseph - 'Cold Summer' 
FKA twigs -  'tears in the club' ft. the weeknd 

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist

Arlo Parks 
KC Lights 
Rathbone Place
Wet Leg

Best Creative Campaign

Fontaines D.C. - 'Skinty Fia' campaign from Partisan Records
Maylee Todd - 'Maloo' campaign from Stones Throw Records - WINNER
Mitski - 'Laurel Hell' campaign from Dead Oceans 
Obongjayar - 'Some Nights I Dream of Doors' campaign from September Recordings 
Radiohead - 'KID A MNESIA' campaign from XL Recordings

Best Independent Label

Domino Recording Company
Ninja Tune
Partisan Records
Rough Trade Records - WINNER
Soundway Records

Best Boutique Label

Chess Club
Edition Records
Finesse Foreva
Local Action - WINNER
Rough Bones

Independent Champion in association with MCPS

Kenny Gates and Michel Lambot of [PIAS] - WINNER

Music Entrepreneur Of The Year

Corey Johnson - CEO & Founder of Defenders Ent. - WINNER
Jamie Oborne - Founder of Dirty Hit/All On Red Management
Karen Emanuel - CEO & Founder of Key Production
Laura Lewis-Paul - CEO & Founder of Saffron Music
Peter Adarkwah - Label Owner of BBE Music

Grab your copy of the Gigwise print magazine here.

Photo: press