At ceremony in London...
Jason Gregory

10:45 14th October 2010

More about:

Coldplay were named songwriters of the year at the 30th annual ASCAP Awards on Wednesday (October 13).

The group's 2008 hit 'Viva La Vida' was also named Song Of The Year at the ceremony in London.

Chris Martin, Guy Berryman, Jonny Buckland and Will Champion were not present to collect the awards because they are recording their new album, but sent a video message.

Other winners included Taio Cruz, who collected the Vanguard Award for his debut album 'Departure'.

Scouting For Girls won the US College Award for their second LP, 'Everybody Wants to Be on TV'.

The ceremony at the Grosvenor House hotel also saw awards given to the creators of film and television themes.

Coldplay - live

Grab your copy of the Gigwise print magazine here.

More about: