US rockers announce details of new album
Ashley Clements

10:11 9th June 2013

More about:

Kings of Leon have announced that their forthcoming album will be titled Mechanical Bull and will be released on 24 September, 2013 via RCA Records.

The Nashville rockers have slowly been teasing fans with news of what will be their eagerly awaited sixth studio album and fans can now expect to hear the record later this year.

Bassist Jared Followill recently took to Twitter to give an insight into what fans can expect to hear from the follow-up album to 2010's Come Around Sundown.

When one fan asked if the new material shared the "rookie" Kings Of Leon sound,  Followill responded: "Not really. There are definitely elements of it. Songs. Not as a whole though. It's a culmination of all of them."

KIngs of Leon will release their sixth album on 24 September, 2013

Another fan used the Twitter conversation to ask which of the band's previous records the new LP was most comparable to, to which Followill replied: "Vibe/feeling could be compared to the first couple. It's much more musically complicated though, so I'd have to say the last 2."

Kings of Leon will be embarking on a UK arena tour later this month which will include shows at London's O2 Arena and the US band are expected to premiere music from new album, Mechanical Bull.

The American four-piece will also be headling a number of festivals across the US and Europe this summer including an appearance at V Festival in August, 2013. 

Below: The must see bands and artists of V Festival 2013

  • Beyonce

  • Beady Eye

  • Calvin Harris

  • Basement Jaxx

  • Kendrick Lamar

  • Jessie Ware

  • Ellie Goulding

  • The Courteeners

  • Kings Of Leon

  • Gabrille Aplin (Photo: Zoe Miranda)

  • Lianne La Havas

  • Rudimental

  • Tom Odell

  • Stereophonics

  • Laura Mvula

  • The Vaccines

  • Ocean Colour Scene

  • Two Door Cinema Club

  • The Fratellis

  • DJ Fresh

Grab your copy of the Gigwise print magazine here.

More about: