Also new material since 1991
Samantha Goodwin

10:28 1st July 2013

More about:

The Pixies have announced UK and European tours dates after last week revealing their first new music in ten years. More details below.

Kicking off the first leg of their world-wide tour in France, 29 September, the band are set to play in the UK with dates in late November.

Joining Black Francis, Joey Santiago and David Lovering, replacing the original member Kim Deal who left last month, is The Pandoras/The Muffs bass player Kim Shattuck.

The band have promised a set that includes something for everyone, including “everyone’s favourites” along with “songs that we haven’t played in ages or never played live before…Songs like ‘Brick is Red’, ‘Havalina’, ‘Tony’s Theme’ and ‘Sad Punk'”.

“We’ve probably rehearsed some eighty songs,” said Black Francis, “so we’ll be able to change up the set at the last minute if we feel like it. We’re all really looking forward to this tour.”

Their first new track in almost a decade, 'Bagboy', was released a week ago.

Watch below Pixies - Bagboy video:

Tickets for the London and Manchester shows go on sale tomorrow, July 2nd, at 9am. For more information go to Gigwise Gig Tickets.

Full list of tour dates below:

September 29 - Olympia, Paris
October 02 - – Ancienne Belgique, Brussels
October 05 – Paradiso, Amsterdam
October 08 - Huxleys, Berling
October 10 – Lucerna Music Hall, Prague
November 01 – Gasometer, Vienna
November 02 – Thonex, Geneva
November 04 – Alcatraz, Milan
November 07 – La Riviera, Madrid
November 09 – Coliseum, Lisbon
November 13 – Falkoner, Copenhagen
November 14 – Sentrum Scene, Oslo
November 15 – Munchen Brewery, Stockholm
November 18 – Olympia, Dublin
November 21 – Apollo, Manchester
November 22 – Barrowlands, Glasgow
November 24 – Hammersmith Apollo, London

 Below: the biggest comebacks of 2013

  • David Bowie: The legend that is Bowie released a single titled 'Where Are We Now?' on his 66th birthday, 11 January 2013. The track became Bowie's first top ten single in ten years, and was his first single release in seven years. A new album, The Next Day, is due to be released in March 2013.

  • Justin Timberlake: Timberlake has recently been better known for acting, but he announced a return to music and previewed his first new single 'Suits & Ties' on 14 January. A new album entitled The 20/20 Experience is set to be released sometime this year and will be Timberlake's first since his 2006 release Futuresex/Lovesounds.

  • Black Sabbath: The original members of Black Sabbath - Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi and Geezer Butler - have made their first new album together since their 1978 album Never Say Die!. The record is called 13, and is set to be released in June and feature 15 tracks. The band also have a few live dates planned for this year, and it's thought that more could follow.

  • Destiny's Child: Destiny's Child disbanded in 2006 so the band members could pursue their solo projects - and obviously Beyonce took better to this than the others. Now the girlband is set to perform at the Super Bowl show, and have also shared a new track, 'Nuclear'. This is their first new material in eight years.

  • Paramore: After two members of the band left, Paramore are now set to release their new album, self-titled Paramore. Not only will it be the band's first new release in three years, but it is their first record since the departure of founding members Josh and Zac Farro.

  • Daft Punk: The electro duo have excited fans all over the world with hints of festival appearances and a new album set for 2013. The record will be their first since 2005's Human After All, and features collaboration with disco star Nile Rodgers.

  • MKS: Okay, they can call themselves MKS as they don't have the rights to the Sugababes name, but we all know this is really a Sugababes comeback. Mutya, Keisha and Siobhan are releasing a new album this autumn, and the album has a track written by Emeli Sande. The girlband posted their first new material this week with a track called 'Boys'.

  • Suede: Legendary Brit-rockers Suede have announced they're releasing new album Bloodsports this year, and recently gave fans a free download of track 'Barriers'. This is their first new material since 'A New Morning' over ten years ago, and promises to be a return to form for the band.

  • The Knife: Swedish electronic music duo The Knife are releasing their first album in over half a decade. Shaking the Habitual is set for spring 2013, and will feature Shannon Funchess of synth-pop duo Light Asylum. The new record will also be followed by a number of European tour dates.

  • Dido: Dido's new album The Girl Who Got Away is her first album in five years, since the release of Grammy Award nominated Safe Trip Home in 2008. The album includes collaborations with Kendrick Lamar, Rizzle Kicks and Brian Eno amongst others, and is set to be released on 4 March 2013.

Issue Four of the Gigwise Print magazine is on pre-order now! Order here.

More about:

Photo: Press