The Next Day Extra due out in November
Andrew Trendell

10:12 30th September 2013

More about:

David Bowie has announced the re-release of his latest album, The Next Day - featuring unheard tracks and remixes by the likes of LCD Soundsystem's James Murphy. See the artwork above. 

His critically-acclaimed and Mercury-nominated comeback LP will be released across three discs in November. The new edition will contain the original 14-track CD, a 10-track CD of bonus tracks and a DVD of the four promotional films made for the album: 'Where Are We Now?', 'The Stars (Are Out Tonight)', 'The Next Day' and 'Valentine’s Day'.

The 10-track bonus CD includes four previously unreleased tracks, two new mixes and 'God Bless The Girl' - which has only been released on the Japanese issue of The Next Day. until now

The full tracklisting for the bonus material onThe Next Day Extra is:
01 Atomica
02 Love Is Lost (Hello Steve Reich Mix by James Murphy for The DFA)
03 Plan
04 The Informer
05 Like A Rocket Man
06 Born In A UFO
07 I’d Rather Be High (Venetian Mix)
08 I’ll Take You There
09 God Bless The Girl
10 So She

Listen to 'So She' below

The Next Day Extra will be released as a Barnbrook-designed package with a lyric booklet and a book of stills from the promo films. In addition to the physical release of The Next Day Extra, there will be a 7-track digital EP bundle featuring these tracks:

01 Atomica
02 Love Is Lost (Hello Steve Reich Mix by James Murphy for The DFA)
03 The Informer
04 Like A Rocket Man
05 Born In A UFO
06 I’d Rather Be High (Venetian Mix)
07 God Bless The Girl

David Bowie is also reported the be appearing a new TV advert for Louis Vuitton, as the new face of the fashion brand's latest campaign. 

Wesbite WWD reports that the Thin White Duke is to head up Vuitton's L’Invitation au Voyage campaign with model Arizona Muse, who kicked off the first round of adverts last year. 

They say that sources claim that Bowie was spotted filming the advertising spots in Venice over the summer and they will be aired later this year. A Louis Vuitton spokesman was unavailable for comment. 

Meanwhile, David Bowie is among the favourites to win this year's Mercury Music Prize, alongside the likes of Foals and Disclosure. 

 Below - David Bowie's The Next Day: What The Critics Had To Say

  • The Guardian - 4/5: "David Bowie's eagerly awaited new album is thought-provoking, strange and filled with great songs".

  • The Times - 4/5: "A great album, and a sense of mystery".

  • The Independent - 5/5: "The Starman pulls off the greatest comeback album in rock'n'roll history with The Next Day".

  • Clash - 8/10: "This is a contemplative, confident record which will only strengthen with further listening. Reflective, revitalising and luxuriously refined; it's bloody good Bowie after all."

  • London Evening Standard - 4/5: "Bowie reborn is dark, daring and dazzling, confidently inviting comparison with his finest work".

  • Rolling Stone - 4/5: "A triumphant album. The Next Day is the comeback Bowie fans feared would never happen."

  • The Financial Times - 4/5: "After a 10-year silence Bowie is back with an album that's thick with visions of ageing, death and violence".

  • The Telegraph - 5/5: "Bowie's first album for a decade %u2013 is a bold, beautiful and baffling electric bolt through its own mythos".

  • Metro - 4/5: "Bowie has always been comfortable with his own ch-ch-ch-changes; now he's taking in a changing world, too. He's a pop icon with no intention of being a period piece."

  • NME - 8/10: "Rather than reinventing Bowie, it absorbs his past and moves it on, hungry for more".

Grab your copy of the Gigwise print magazine here.

More about:

Photo: Press