Queens of the Stone Age man adds 'exciting' contribution
Andrew Trendell

09:21 25th June 2013

Alex Turner has spoken out about working with Queens of the Stone Age frontman Josh Homme on a track on the new Arctic Monkeys album, AM.

Yesterday, Arctic Monkeys surprised fans with the announcement of their upcoming fifth album, due for release on 9 September, 2013.  

Speaking about the LP to Zane Lowe on BBC Radio One last night, frontman Alex Turner talked about a guest appearance from Josh Homme on the record, and said that his contribution is 'really exciting.

"The Josh thing was very much a case of one of us returning a back scratch to the other," said Turner, referring to the guest vocals that he leant to Like Clockwork by QOTSA. "He came down and sort of got us out of a little rut. It's just fun, it's friends, extended family now – (they) came round, had a fun night."

He continued: "His contribution to our record is really exciting, it's probably my favourite. The 30 seconds that he's in there is just, I dunno, it's like something that I've never heard before. Not to blow my own trumpet or anything, but you know what I’m saying." 

Josh Homme of Queens of the Stone Age guests on AM by Arctic Monkeys

Turner also spoke about the album's title: "I actually stole it from the Velvet Underground, I'll just confess that now and get it out of the way. The 'VU' record, obviously. Did we cop out? Yeah!

"Summat about it feels like this record is exactly where we should be right now. So it felt right to just initial it."

Speaking about the development of the record, Turner added: "The record sort of started with 'R U Mine?' really. (We) discovered something through the recording of that tune that we thought was worth exploring. 'Do I Wanna Know' was the first thing we found along that road." 

AM was produced by produced by Simian Mobile Disco's James Ford and also features appearances from former The Coral member Bill Ryder-Jones and Elvis Costello's drummer Pete Thomas. Lyrics by the iconic punk poet John Cooper Clarke appear on the track 'I Wanna Be Yours'.

The Tracklisting is as follows:
1. Do I Wanna Know?
2. R U Mine?
3. One For The Road
4. Arabella 5. I Want It All
6. No. 1 Party Anthem
7. Mad Sounds
8. Fireside
9. Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High?
10. Snap Out Of It
11. Knee Socks
12. I Wanna Be Yours

Check out our guide to everything else that we know about the album here.

This week the stage times for Glastonbury were revealed. See them here, and check out our guide to the most annoying band schedule clashes of the weekend here

Check out everything else we know about the new Arctic Monkeys album here

Below - Gigwise presents Alex Turner's best bits...


Grab your copy of the Gigwise print magazine here.

Photo: WENN.com/Press