A Christmas present from RiRi may be due for arrival
Andy Morris

09:41 1st December 2014

More about:

Rihanna's eighth studio album has appeared for pre-order on Play.com, leading to more speculation that its going to be released before Christmas.

As the Bajan singer herself plays coy on the LP's details, Rihanna's new album has appeared to preorder on Play.com. This may not be significant - after all Dr Dre's Detox has been on HMV's pre-order list for around a decade - but then again it may mean we will hear a new RiRi album before the year is out. The fact that the release date has already passed however doesn't bode well.

Rihanna recently denied media reports about her new album. Following LA's DJ Skee tweeting that he had an exclusive news on #R8 on Dash Radio, Rihanna tweeted "NOBODY IS TUNING IN TO LISTEN TO YOUR FUCKERY!!!!" before clarifying: 

DJ Skee has previously been the source of multiple rumours about the new album. Speaking on his radio show the DJ said recently: "That project is a lot closer than anyone realised, including her own record label," he said. "She’s trying to put out a project to capitalize off the fourth quarter."

Skee went on say that of the 10 tracks premiered to those at her label, Roc Nation, in New York was a track titled 'I’ve Been Searching for Something to Ignite Me When I’m Alone' which could be the first single.  

Rihanna also posted a 15 second snippet of a new track directly from the studio. “Ain’t none of this shit promised, ain’t none of this promised,” she sings over some vaguely trap sounding backing. “Ain’t none of this shit certain, ain’t none of this certain.” 


phuckin roun in da studio

A video posted by badgalriri (@badgalriri) on

Rihanna has reportedly been in the studio working with DJ Mustard, Ester Dean, and Ne-Yo, among others on the follow-up to 2012's Apologetic. Calvin Harris revealed recently that currently he is not featured on the album.

Rihanna herself told the New York Times: "I can't give you any hints of when it will drop. It's going to be great, that's all I'm going to tell you and I'm excited about it. I try to battle myself and outdo everything I've done and that's been the hardest thing to do. You start overthinking things at times."

A supposed tracklisting for an album called Lost Files was also doing the rounds online last month, featuring Drake, Nicki Minaj, Big Sean and Eminem.

1. Bold
2. Trouble
3. Ain't No Drama
4. Barz (featuring Nicki Minaj)
5. A Drug & A Dream
6. All Night
7. Lovin, Fallin, Dyin
8. Tattered Heart
9. Real Talk (featuring Drake)
10. Hall of Fames /Flames?
11. Pray 4 Me (featuring Big Sean)
12. Oceans
13. Veins
14. Lost Files (featuring Eminem)

Having released a new album every year from 2009-2012, fans have been expecting a new LP for some time. Rihanna recently completed the hugely successful Monster tour with Eminem in the US and launched her first men's fragrance Rogue Man. 

Grab your copy of the Gigwise print magazine here.

More about:

Photo: Wenn